top of page

Why am I standing and what for?

Here's my very brief overview 'introduction' based around what I believe to be the most important things I can bring... Common Sense and Accountability.



Hello, my name is Stu Peters and I’m a prospective candidate for one of the two vacant Middle seats in the House of Keys at the General Election on 23rd September 2021.


TAKING BACK THE MIDDLE GROUND


For 21 years as a broadcaster at Manx Radio, primarily focused on current affairs, I’ve listened to the frustrations and concerns of the Manx people, and directly challenged those in power to respond. Now it’s time to move away from the microphone and use my experience to make a positive change, not least for us here in Middle, the forgotten heart of the island.

Common Sense & Accountability


These two key things will be at the heart of my manifesto. Two things I believe have been missing from local politics for far too long. Expensive vanity projects, unnecessary consultations, poorly managed infrastructure projects – these have wasted tens of millions. We taxpayers deserve better. It is time for serious accountability.


There will be no empty promises from me, few people understand that an MHK is just one voice and needs to win support from others to influence anything. My promise will be that the elected voice of Middle will be heard – your views will be properly represented.


Representing you: How well has Middle been represented in the last 5 years? You can excuse our Chief Minister in light of the last 18 months, but career politicians always forget the people who voted them in.


Traffic and travel: Did Douglas and Peel or our neighbours to the south do anything to minimise the increased commuter traffic we now face on a daily basis? Traffic that could delay essential and emergency services. Traffic that impacts our lives, and health. No, and there has been no accountability.


Environment: I’m no tree hugger, but the environment is an issue we cannot ignore. Like it or not, changes are being forced on us – no new gas boilers, electric cars, pollution targets, these are all coming, and soon. Where are the common sense plans to help us, the people, adapt to these changes?


Housing: We need affordable houses and the infrastructure to support them. However, no one is considering the impact on existing homeowners property values! Cheap houses would only serve to lose many residents their hard-earned equity. A common sense solution is for Government to implement part-ownership mortgages to help our next generations get on the property ladder – also encouraging them to make their lives here.


Nobody is speaking up for the ‘silent majority’ who just want common sense solutions to a mixed-up world and real accountability. Let me be that voice.

I’m planning to knock on your door before September and look forward to meeting you. If I already have your support, please consider displaying my poster, or contact me to offer practical help or request other campaign material.


If you got this far – thanks for reading. Please do have a look at other pages and articles on my website and if what I am saying resonates with you, please use the email sign up function or feel free to email me with any questions or concerns: stupeters@manx.net


Best wishes


Stu

bottom of page