top of page

Education? Forget Pink Floyd's opinion.

I co-produced a teacher once (my eldest daughter) but left Grammar School at 16 with few qualifications so may not be the best person to talk to about schooling.



When I left school in 1970 not many of my contemporaries went on to university. That has changed over the years and the Blair administration in particular was committed to higher education for all. We all want the best for our children, but the high cost of obtaining a degree sometimes only seems to benefit the college industry and not the student.


I wanted to work and have money to buy motorbikes at 16, rather than endure another 5 years as a student. I've often wondered if that was a wise decision. On balance, in my case, I think it was"

Reading, ritin' and 'rithmetic


Most people of my generation think that the three 'R's seem to have been supplanted by more trendy subjects. I know that I'm a curmudgeon, but as an employer I was often appalled at the number of scruffy, illiterate job applications that came through the post. The excuse now is 'it doesn't matter that you write in 'txt spch' and acronyms as long as the message is clear'. I don't agree with that. Do you?


Basic foundations: The purpose of education is surely to produce well-rounded, articulate, numerate and literate young people. I might be wrong, but I worry that education is increasingly an area for the promulgation of some pretty radical political thinking too.


League tables: One voter I talked to knew much more about education in the Isle of Man than me, and suggested that most schools here would be in 'special measures' if UK regulation prevailed. Another told me that league tables would be a great way for parents to know how well 'their' school was performing, but another (a teacher) told me that was like measuring achievement by the ability to climb trees. The elephants would always be (unfairly) labelled as Dumbos!


A matter of degree: Most employers value applicants educated to degree standard - and rightly so. I used to scoff at the concept of a degree in Mongolian Interpretive Dance having ANY value in the workplace, but I've interviewed educators over the years who have told me that it's the ability to learn and process information at a high level that is more important than the course subject matter itself.


Vocational training: It seems that as far as the local economy is concerned, many teenagers would be better off learning a trade than racking up thousands in student debt. But it feels like a second-rate option for our young people who are being channelled into A-levels and degrees. Might more apprenticeships get more people into well-paid jobs?


Video killed the radio star: I know I'm old when I see a group of young people all glued to their phone screens and ignoring their 'real' friends. Tech is great but you can still be lonely despite having hundreds of friends on Facebook. I've lost track of all the apps - I understand Facebook and WhatsApp, but Twitter has always been a mystery, as has TikTok, Instagram and a suite of others. Naked selfies are a thing for people who don't realise that they'll be available somewhere forever.


Mental health and resilience: Apparently we have a looming crisis in mental health with increasing numbers of young people having difficulty coping. Is it because expectations are unrealistic and any failure is a trigger for depression? Should teachers spend less time on trendy social and political issues and more on future-proofing children, being supportive yet realistic about their aspirations and showing them how to deal with disappointment? We live in a world where instant gratification is commonplace, yet very few people will ever become online influencers, YouTube millionaires, X-Factor contestants or superstar DJ's.


I don't know if our education system is working well or not. But I bet you do and welcome your opinion

I started this blog by saying I'm not an expert on education. My children are all wonderful, smart adults so on the face of it the system worked, but I'm not sure it can't be improved. If you have strong feelings about the Manx education system, please get in touch so I'm better informed.


I was asked recently to sign a pledge to the NAHT saying that I considered them the experts on education and to support their cause. Having thought about it I realised that their manifesto didn't appear to recognise the importance of parents as 'stakeholders' (how I hate words like that) so respectfully declined. Partly because I'd just read an article about 4-year olds being allowed to choose their own gender, name, dress and pronouns without any reference to their parents. I'd rather they were taught to read, write and do mental arithmetic.



If you got this far – thanks for reading. Please do have a look at other pages and articles on my website or 'Stu Peters for Middle on Facebook' and if what I am saying resonates with you, please use the email sign up function or feel free to email me with any questions or concerns: stupeters@manx.net


Best wishes


Stu

bottom of page